Thirty Days Has November

Some people call ’em blog posts. I call ’em brain spews.

cropped-winya-1.jpg

So November is fast approaching, and as if I didn’t have enough to do starting a new job, searching for a house and looking after two small children, I thought I might write a book. In thirty days. For fun.

This is because November is National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo (possibly the clumsiest abbreviation ever). While this will be my first NaNo, I joined a local NaNo group earlier in the year and found a bunch of the friendliest, most welcoming and knowledgeable people you could ever hope to meet.

Want to know about obscure 1960’s country artists? Sure.

Looking for handy and insightful writing tips? No problem.

Updates on short story competitions? You got it.

Beta readers for your as-yet unpublished novel? Take your pick.

But now I get to find out what NaNo is all about for real. There will be a series of events and write-ins throughout the month, not to mention general supportive behaviour and spontaneous pom-pom waving. I will be honest, I don’t think I will get anywhere near the 50k word count which qualifies you as a NaNo ‘winner’, but a month of hardcore writing and meets with some lovely, likeminded people, sounds like a win to me.

Leave a Reply

